Robin Elliott
Development Assistant
(607) 257-9699 x9928

Finger Lakes ReUse Receives ‘Environmental Excellence Award’ From New York State Department of Environmental Conservation

Ithaca, N.Y. . . The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) announced on Tuesday that Finger Lakes ReUse, Inc. were among the eight organizations awarded the Environmental Excellence Award for 2016.  Finger Lakes ReUse was honored for “turning waste into opportunities by diverting reusable materials from the landfill.” The award recognizes “those who are working to improve and protect New York’s environment and contribute to a more healthy economy by advancing sustainable practices and forming creative partnerships.”

“DEC is proud to present Environmental Excellence Awards to these eight businesses and organizations that have demonstrated outstanding leadership in adopting innovative solutions to protect our environment and enhance our economy,” said DEC Commissioner Basil Seggos in the press release. FLR was nominated for the award by Tompkins County Solid Waste. Diane Cohen, executive director, accepted the award on behalf of Finger Lakes ReUse at the 13th Annual New York State Environmental Excellence Awards, held at Union College’s Park Hall.

Diane Cohen and Peter Walke, NYSDEC Chief of Staff (Photo: NYSDEC)

Diane Cohen and Peter Walke, NYSDEC Chief of Staff (Photo: NYSDEC)

“We are so grateful to receive the Environmental Excellence award. This exciting recognition helps Finger Lakes ReUse and our partners further amplify the multiplying positive impacts of the growing reuse industry, and is a welcome affirmation of the years of planning and developing reuse efforts,” said Cohen in the press release. “None of this would be possible without our many community partners and advisors, employees, trainees, and volunteers, led by our visionary collaborators at Tompkins County Solid Waste. A Reuse Center in Tompkins County has long been an aspiration of County Solid Waste Manager Barbara Eckstrom, and we accept this award in honor of and as a result of her many years of unwavering commitment to making our world a better place.”