Abbey started at ReUse in 2022. She is currently our Development Coordinator working on fundraising and supporting our ReUse Materials Access Program (ReMAP).

How long have you been working at ReUse? Have you always been in the position you are in now?

I have been working at ReUse since June of 2022. I started here as an intern working to gain hands-on experience through a job placement program. A few months later, I was hired by ReUse as an Administrative Assistant and was recently promoted to Development Coordinator.

Describe your current position and what you do in a few sentences:

I primarily work in fundraising which includes individual giving, grant writing and reporting and keeping up to date donor records. I started here with basically no knowledge of this work and am very grateful for the opportunity I have been given here at ReUse. I also help with other programs, like ReMAP, and really enjoy talking with members of the community about the services we offer.

What is your favorite part of working at ReUse?

Everyone working together to reach a common goal and the impact ReUse has on the community is inspiring. The people and the environment here at ReUse makes me truly enjoy coming to work everyday.

How have you grown to understand the impacts of our mission statement (enhancing community, economy, and environment through reuse) through your work?

Our mission drives everything we do here at ReUse. Working together to take unwanted items and turning those into opportunities like job training, free materials and affordable merchandise is exactly what we need to create a more circular economy and sustainable environment. Experiencing these benefits first hand and seeing the amount of donated materials we receive really highlights the importance of ReUse.

Tell us a few fun facts about yourself? .

I love animals, and have two dogs named Buffy & Chilli. I grew up on a small farm and we raised many different animals and participated in 4-H. I am semi-new to the Ithaca area and enjoy spending time with my family, riding my bicycle and meeting all the wonderful people I have met along the way.